Canongate Challenge!

Having enjoyed the Penelopiad so much, I’ve decided to read the rest of the modern myth Canongate series.Launched in October 2005, this project co-ordinates simultaneous worldwide publication of each book in the series.From the website:

Myths are universal and timeless stories that reflect and shape our lives — they explore our desires, our fears, our longings, and provide narratives that remind us what it means to be human.The Myths series brings together some of the world’s finest writers, each of whom has retold a myth in a contemporary and memorable way.

 1. 2005 A Short History of Myth – Karen Armstrong
 2. 2005 The Penelopiad – Margaret Atwood
 3. 2005 Weight – Jeanette Winterson
 4. 2006 The Helmet of Horror – Victor Pelevin (trans.)
 5. 2006 Lion’s Honey – David Grossman (trans.)
 6. 2006 Dream Angus – Alexander McCall-Smith
 7. 2006 Anna In w grobowcach świata – Olga Tokarczuk
 8. 2007 Girl meets Boy – Ali Smith
 9. 2007 Binu and the Great Wall – Su Tong (trans.)
10. 2007 Where three roads meet – Salley Vickers
11. 2008 Baba Yaga laid an egg – Dubravka Ugrešić
12. 2008 The Fire Gospel – Michel Faber
13. 2009 The Myth of Izanagi and Izanami – Natsuo Kirino
14. 2009 Orphans of Eldorado – Milton Hatoum
15. 2009 The Hurricane Party – Klas Ostergren
16. 2010 The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ – Phillip Pullman
17. 2011 The End of the Gods – A.S. Byatt


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s